The history of the Old Swiss House
The Old Swiss House, built in 1859, is located near the Lion Monument, in the very centre of the City of Lucerne. Its handsome half-timbered façade makes it one of the most photographed attractions of the area. It is truly a landmark of Lucerne.
The second floor of the Old Swiss House served as living quarters for the Buholzer family until 1967. Since then, the upstairs has been turned into traditional banqueting rooms for private parties and family gatherings. Most of the interior decorations date back to the 17th century. The establishment’s antique glassware, hand-carved wall panels, solid oak doors with carved inlays, genuine Sheffield silverware and items of old pewter are much admired by our guests. The stained-glass windows sporting heraldic panes date back to 1575. The many beautiful oil paintings throughout the premises are all originals by famous artists. The establishment’s pride-and-joy, however, is a craftsman-built, porcelain-tiled stove, dated 1636 and initialled by Daniel Pfau.
The Old Swiss House ranks as one of Switzerland’s outstanding and most attractive restaurants. The service staff are dressed in original Lucerne costumes and are eager to turn your visit into an unforgettable experience.
The Buholzer family has one of Switzerland’s most remarkable wine cellars. It is stocked with 40,000 or so bottles of some of the rarest vintage wines, including a unique collection of Château Mouton Rothschild, which is on display near the entrance to the Old Swiss House. The high standard of our cuisine, service and cellar makes the Old Swiss House a favourite with our local clientele, as well as a place of pilgrimage for visitors from around the world.
Lion Monument erected
The Old Swiss House is built adjacent to the Lion Monument
The Buholzer family purchases the Old Swiss House and transforms it into a restaurant
Trudy Buholzer, daughter of the proprietor, weds Mr. August A. Busch, President and CEO of Anheuser-Busch, the world’s largest brewery
Willy and Hanny Buholzer, representing the second generation, take on the running of the Old Swiss House
Philipp Buholzer steps into his parents’ shoes
Oliver Vaglio joins the management
In 1951, Mr. August A. Busch, President and CEO of Anheuser-Busch, the world’s largest brewery, met Trudy Buholzer, sister-in-law of Hanny Buholzer, while dining at the Old Swiss House. They were married a year later and went on to have seven children. The ties between the Busch and the Buholzer families remain close, especially since Hanny’s oldest son, Willy Buholzer, is responsible for the procurement of all of Anheuser-Busch’s imported hops.
Philipp is now running the Old Swiss House as the fourth generation of the Buholzer family, thus ensuring that the family tradition of excellent cuisine and friendly service continues into the foreseeable future.
Thanks to the kindness of our esteemed guests and the energetic support of our highly qualified staff, the Old Swiss House can continue to be successfully managed as a «family business with a personal touch» in the future.